AFTER YOU ARE GONE….

I know most people do not like hearing or talking about death. But the fact still remains that death is inevitable (except you’re an angel or God).  I make no apologies for being realistic. I am fully aware I cannot live forever, so I think the wise thing to do is to maximize the limited time I have got here on earth.

The key word here is “maximize”. Hmmmm… big grammar… let’s consult my good friend Miss Encarta…. Maximize… To make something as great as possible. I seriously love this definition, so allow me repeat it. TO MAKE SOMETHING AS GREAT AS POSSIBLE. Now replace “something” with “my life”.  Have you done that? Awesome! Now ask yourself and answer for yourself (if you choose to lie to yourself, na you sabi), “Am I making my life as great as possible?”

What does it even mean to have a great life? I’m not going to answer that because I believe every human being knows the answer to that question deep down. It’s one of those things you just know… Everybody knows that a fulfilled life, a maximized life is one shared with others. It is a life that impacts. It is a life that’s not easily forgotten. It is a life that touches lives…

I’m not particularly a fan of Mama Blue Ivy, but I got to watch her United Nations World Humanitarian Day performance of the song I was here. The lyrics of the song grabbed me by the throat before the melody even found me. Truth be told, it was what inspired me to write this piece. See for yourself:

I wanna leave my footprints on the sands of time
Know there was something that
Meant something that I left behind
When I leave this world,
I’ll leave no regrets
Leave something to remember,
So they won’t forget

I was here…
I lived, I loved
I was here…
I did, I’ve done, everything that I wanted
And it was more than I thought it would be
I will leave my mark so everyone will know
I was here…

I want to say I lived each day,
Until I die
And know that I meant something in somebody’s life
The hearts I have touched,
Will be the proof that I leave (me thinks it should be “lived” sha)
That I made a difference
And this world will see

I just want them to know
That I gave my all,
Did my best
Brought someone some happiness
Left this world a little better just because…
I was here…

Leave your mark in the sands of time. You do not necessarily have to do some outlandish thing to be impactful. Great things lie in the little. It’s a word of encouragement. It’s a smile to make someone’s day. It’s phoning to tell a friend how great he is. It’s taking time out of your busy schedule to visit your parents. It’s giving gifts even on un-birthdays. It’s asking yourself daily “what can I do to please my husband/wife today?” It’s being the best parent you can be. It’s about using your talent, whether it be singing, organizing, talking, cooking, writing or dancing, to enrich lives.

It’s leaving a lasting positive imprint on the hearts of all who come across you…

When all is said and done, people will not remember you for what you had when you were alive, but for what you did.

What have YOU done? What will YOU do?

This entry was posted in Thoughts, Experiences & Lessons.... Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to AFTER YOU ARE GONE….

  1. Reblogged this on Favour4chukwuka's Blog and commented:
    Think everyone needs to read this. INSPIRING!!!

    Like

  2. lahmeet says:

    Thank you favour4chukwuka! Glad you were inspired 🙂

    Like

  3. Zingfa says:

    so on point Anita…a timely warning we need each day….i’m spreading the word…bravo!!

    Like

  4. lahmeet says:

    Good Zingfa! Spreading this is a sure way to touch lives…Spread away! Thanks for stopping by

    Like

  5. omonaikee says:

    Spot on. I believe that Life is not too short, its long enough we just have to maximise it by living it to make an impact whether we are impacting the world or one person’s world. Welldone Anita, keep this up!

    Like

  6. lahmeet says:

    Thank you Nikus…yeah the real life is a life of positive impact. Let’s keep spreading this gospel!

    Like

  7. Andrew says:

    What will God, my wife, children and family, friends and everyday people i meet remember me for? After I am gone what will be my legacy to them?That’s a thought provoking theme in this exquisite article…one cannot rush to give a simple-minded answer because everyday is a whole new story..its a challenge to strive to live purposefully and deliberately in this world that’s tending towards the glorification of self-ishness. Indeed true happiness is achieved while bringing it to others..
    Lahmeet thanks for re-emphasizing to me the need to make that difference, you sure are making it in my life..bear hug and kisses!

    Like

  8. jay says:

    very inspiring piece Anita. Food for thought,still chewing on it and will for a while.
    really proud of you baby sis. keep churning out these thought provoking articles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

