Sweat the SMALL stuff!

Here I am typing another unplanned post. Quite contrary to my usually ducks-in-a-row way of doing things… But I’ve come to discover that spontaneity can be good sometimes.

I think writing this post is one of those times.

On my way back from lunch, I saw a crippled man, completely prostrate on the littered asphalt road. I was wondering how he dragged himself there when I realized that he was urinating! Right there on the road with people passing by and going about their business.

Seeing that filled me with a combination of pity and gratitude.

Pity because of the sorry state of that man and the fact that he was so helpless that he did not care about privacy in the face of the urge to ease himself.

Gratitude… for so many things… things that I take for granted. Things that I overlook in my search for grander manifestations- you know, the ghen ghen “earth shaking” miracles. Things that should cause me to dance for joy and shout with glee.

While pondering on this, I realized that I earlier on today, I was thinking worrying about the future. Future school fees for Kiki, future … See ba? I do not even remember all the many things I was worrying about. I’m a worrier by nature, which is weird considering the fact that I know everything will work out fine (and they usually do), loosely translated as F-A-I-T-H, abi?

But after seeing that man, I considered all the “small stuff” I did not have to worry about this morning…

  1. I woke up by 5:15am, and saw that I was in my room. My husband was sleeping beside me and Kiki was sleeping in her cot. I saw all these because I am not blind.
  2. I got out of bed and walked- unaided- to the bathroom. My legs may be curvy (not bow, thank you very much! hehe), but they get me from point A to point B effectively.
  3. I peed and I pooped like it was nothing. Is it nothing? Ha!
  4. The funny smell from the trash bin in the bathroom signaled to me that it was time to take out the trash. Yes, my nose works perfectly.
  5. While doing all the above, I was planning dinner, reminding myself to discuss party pack ideas with a friend, deciding how to tackle a report at work, thinking on whether to buy a pink or purple dress party dress for Kiki…and a bunch of other stuff. See? I have a functional brain.

Are these things enough to fill me with gratitude? Yes, they are. Do I remember to be grateful for these things? No, I do not.

There is a saying: “Don’t sweat the small stuff” meaning “don’t let the little things in life drive you crazy”. While this is true in the general context it is used, this post is to remind you to sweat the small stuff. Yes, focus on those little things that you take for granted and be filled with gratitude. Hem your blessings with gratitude so that they don’t unravel…

God gave you a gift of 86,400 seconds today. Have you used one to say “thank you?” ~William A. Ward

What are you grateful for?

This entry was posted in Thoughts, Experiences & Lessons... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sweat the SMALL stuff!

  1. tessadoghor says:

    I was nasty to a child this morning because I was irritable. She kept rubbing hers hands on my arm and I screamed “don’t touch me”. I never even gave her a backward glance to see if she was hurt.

    That is just too hard, cold to be a picture of me. I am still wondering why this change?

    Like

    • lahmeet says:

      🙂 Tessa, we all have our moments of being nasty… We may want to blame mood swings, hormones, “waking up on the left side of the bed” etc etc. However, its great to know that you still have the conscience to know that you were unkind and to aim to behave differently next time by God’s grace. Thanks for stopping by. I always appreciate your visits and comments 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sijuade Ogunade says:

    We really don’t always remember the seemingly little things but personally, I take out time once in a while to spend precious time giving glory and praise to God for these things. Alive and well, thanking you Lord. Sometimes, after yelling at my children, I go back to think and I thank God for even having who to yell at. Children are blessings and it’s a privilege to have mine.

    Like

  3. Shirley says:

    Anita! Anita!!Anita!!! she is back.
    As a matter of truth, I am inspired.
    How we focus on the grander miracles (in your words) and forget to be appreciative of the seemingly little VITAL blessings we ha’ve.
    Weldone.

    Like

  4. funmi says:

    Truly..it’s the little things that matter the most.. Thanks again for another inspiring post.

    Like

  5. Gigi says:

    Now this would make me sweat all the small stuff, it’llmake me grateful and happier. The little things in life indeeds makes the big things happen. Lots of love Anita.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dinah says:

    tanx anita…….Godbless.. Lord I take dis one second to say Thankyou……it so reminds me of mary Mary’s song about taking out one minute and breaking it down to seconds…..dat song. …hmmmnnn. bless u dear

    Liked by 1 person

  7. patience giwa says:

    Hmm…thanks for this piece. Truly inspired, how we often neglect those little stuffs. God bless

    Like

Leave a Reply

