Why my edges are not growing (and how this relates to you)

I used to have a healthy head of hair, with decent edges too! Those good ol’ days… When I could confidently pack my hair all back 😁. Alas, the million braids era rolled in and I ignorantly jumped aboard. Goodbye, edges 😒.

The other day my friend and I were gisting about something completely hair unrelated and I don’t know who sent her to ask about my edges 😑

Friend: How is your hair?

Me: (Thinking uh oh… Don’t go there). It’s growing. Na edges I want (shebi I should have just stopped at “it’s growing”?)

Friend: What are you using for the edges?

Me: My sister, I have one oil… But I’m not serious πŸ™ˆ

Friend: Hahahahaha @ you’re not serious

She was seriously tickled at my expense πŸ˜’

But it’s true, I’m not serious. I know that regular and proper use of the hair oil would improve my edges. I know the way to apply the oil. I even set a reminder for the oil application which religiously pops up on my phone every 9am. I either ignore it or swipe it away like some bothersome fly. I’m really not serious πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™€οΈ

So how does this relate to you (and me of course! 😁)?

Knowledge is useless without consistent application.

All of the knowledge I listed above, as regards my sparse edges and the hair oil remedy, is useless without consistent application. Emphasis on “consistent”. Because, I actually apply the oil once in a while… In fact, I did so this morning and yesterday too, but this was after about 5 days of oil drought.

So back to you (and me of course! Hehe)…

What do you know? What knowledge have you gathered here and there? Many of us went on a course/webinar/e-learning spree during the lockdown period (it was a thing then… I’m not shading anyone oπŸ˜†). I spent good money in buying my hair oil, just like many of us have spent money to get knowledge upadan. We have invested time in learning and knowing, but are we doing and being? Consistently too?

I guarantee you that my edges will never grow until I get serious about consistent application of what I have (and know). But you know the real tragedy? Stunted growth (spiritual, emotional, mentally etc.) because we choose to not apply what we know. Now that’s tragic…

About Lahmeet

Dots Connector πŸ’« Lessons Chronicler πŸ‘ŒπŸΎ I have a penchant for gleaning inspiration from everyday happenings (even the most mundane stuff😁) and I absolutely itch until I share those lessons πŸ˜†. Hope you leave inspired... πŸ’œ
This entry was posted in Thoughts, Experiences & Lessons... and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why my edges are not growing (and how this relates to you)

  1. Peace Ali says:

    I enjoyed this article and I can tell that there are some knowledge via training that i paid for and never put them into practice to have hands on experience. Thanks for this reminder.

    Like

  2. KYAUTA says:

    Chei, I can relate very well @ pushing reminders away. Action is key, and consistently too. Thanks Lahmeet

    Like

  3. Allo Bolatito says:

    Wow, really true. Learning without application is almost as good as being ignorant. Hmmm, I know this applies to me in many ways as there are knowledge I’m yet to put to use. God have mercy on me πŸ˜…πŸ˜₯

    Like

  4. mrsjayne says:

    You have been shouting at me with this piece. Thank you for this reminder.

    Like

Leave a comment